Entry to the United States with Advance Parole-My experience

I had a huge problem the day before my flight.

I was supposed to check in online (my airline was Lufthansa) and I did everything they asked, except that when I was almost done it was asking me for my Visa or Green Card to check in to my flight to the United States.  As an UndocuTraveler I obviously did not have one so I tried to skip that requirement and a pop up message appeared and said that if I didn’t have a Visa or a Green card then I couldn’t check in, and therefore, couldn’t board the plane.

I almost choked.

I decided not to panic because when you panic you cannot think straight, so the next day I took a shower, packed, had breakfast and left to the airport 5 hours before my flight.  I arrived at the airport and tried to check in my luggage but since it was too early they didn’t let me, I told the lady that I had a problem checking in online and she said I had to wait 2 hours before my flight…

I waited 3 hours and I was a nervous wreck.

My flight was at 7pm so exactly at 4 pm I sat down where the line began and waited for 5pm anxiously, when my time came I explained to the lady that I did not have a Visa or a Green Card but I did have Advance Parole.  I gave her my documents, passport, EAD card (your work permit, the red card) and the credit card I bought my ticket with, thankfully, she was very familiar with Advance Parole and she checked me in, took my luggage and gave me my boarding pass!

Some airlines have an option for AP like KLM but some do not, like Lufthansa, but don’t freak out if that happens to you just go to the airport and check in with a worker (not the machine) and all will be ok if you show him or her your documents!

I had a layover in Germany and it all went very smooth, I just found my gate and waited to enter the airplane, they stamped my passport because I was leaving the Schengen Zone and I was on my way home.

Two hours before landing to LAX the staff distributed a blue and white paper that we had to fill out and give to an officer upon arrival.  That piece of paper is just to declare the items you brought into the country and how much in value, it asks for your passport number, name, and other personal information, is nothing to worry about.

When you land you are going to encounter an officer and you will give him or her your blue paper and they will either stamp it or sign it, then you will keep walking and you will see a line that says “Legal Permanent Residents and U.S Citizens” skip that one and find (mine was to the left) the visitor’s Line.

An officer is going to motion you to a cubicle, give them your blue and white paper (if they did not already took it away) and then give them your Advance Parole documents, passport, and EAD.  Depending on the officer they will ask you questions regarding your documents or what is AP or even DACA, answer truthfully, but some do not even ask you questions so it all depends on the type of officer you get.

He or she will take your fingerprints and a picture, then they will motion you to the side and call an officer to take you to a separate room, once inside that room give the officer sitting on the chair and behind the counter your documents (AP papers, passport, and EAD) and then sit down.

This part varies, you will either wait there for hours or just a few minutes, an officer might call you for questioning or just let you go, the officers might be nice or absolute tools and mean and terrible (it all depends on who is on duty).

After I gave the officer my documents I sat down and waited 10 minutes, then he called me and gave me my documents (one AP back because they keep one and let you keep the other one for your records) and told me to step out of the room…that was it! It was really easy!

Some people don’t get their copy of the AP document, ask them to give it to you, but if they refuse there is nothing you can do, if this happens make sure you have your passport stamped with the entry to the United States and that should be enough evidence for when renewal of your DACA comes.

Then I went to retrieve my suitcase and I was free like a bird!

I have to say that it was a pretty intense experience because I was terrified.

When the plane landed I wanted to cry, I kept thinking that I was so happy to be back, and that I didn’t want to be in the U.S as badly as I did then…it is a scary experience traveling with AP but it is very worth it! Take the chance, as you can see the process is simple.

I must warn however that the entry experience varies within state, airport, time, and officers (ESPECIALLY the officers), while I was waiting in the room, an officer called an Asian lady and questioned her, then he started being extremely rude to her…the lady was on the verge of tears.  Another lady asked an officer if she could call her son to let him know she was safe, the officer looked at her and told her “So? So what? I don’t care, you can’t call” as you can see it differs.

If you encounter a rude officer do not get agitated or nervous, you have a legal document and all will be fine.  Do not cry, do not make it seem like you did something wrong, just be yourself.  If you get an A-hole officer just remember that they can be rude and scream at you but they will let you in, it is their duty and the law.

Advance Parole says that your entry to the country depends on the discretion of the officer, that is ONLY their decision when they believe you are a danger to the country or have done something illegal or suspicious.  You have not done neither of those things (I hope) and you will be OK.

In case you get held up and something does happen, do not answer questions, tell the officer you won’t speak and they may contact your lawyer.  Unfortunately you cannot talk to a lawyer and he or she cannot assist you when at an airport but they can once they take you to another place.

Always have a number of a lawyer with you, a number of a person or organization for immigrant rights, and a contact from a member of the media (if you have one).

On the unfortunate (and HIGHLY unlikely) event that you do get arrested and put into deportation proceedings DO NOT SIGN ANYTHING.  They will tell you terrible things, scary things, trying to intimidate you to sign, but DO NOT SIGN.  If you do you are self deporting and there is nothing a lawyer or an organization or the media can do to help you.  Always consult with a lawyer on what to say and let him or her handle everything, you get one phone call, call your lawyer.  I want to make sure you understand that this is just a very unlikely scenario but it is alway good to be prepared.  

These are just precautions, it shouldn’t come to that unless you did something terrible, which you did not (I hope).

Do not be SCARED, enjoy, come back and tell you family of your adventures!! 

God bless you all UndocuTravelers!

644 thoughts on “Entry to the United States with Advance Parole-My experience

  1. Hi everyone I also got AP and I leave the 3rd of January and return the 9th I’ve read on the AP warnings about being in the US undocumented (I have daca valid till July 2017) you can be denied entry can somebody clarify this for me I’m really nervous taking this trip. By the way I have no criminal history or deportation orders or such. Thanks in advance

    Like

  2. I have a question. Should I bring with me the original I765 “application for employment authorization And the card itself?.

    I know that I must bring with me the I821D
    And AP letter both document original.

    Like

  3. Hola a todos solo quiero contar mi experiencia viaje con mi AP y al igual como todos ustedes estaba super preocupada y en mi caso mas de lo normal ya que tengo un delito menor en mi record por una multa que no pague es algo que solucione, pero igual es algo que siempre va estar ahi en mi record.
    Mi abogada me dijo que todo saldria bien por qe es lo unico que tengo en mi record y que calificaba para el “Petty offense” pero igual nada te garantiza la entrada asi que corri el riesgo viaje con mi esposo y tres hijos salimos por la frontera de San Diego/ Tijuana en carro y regresamos de la misma manera.
    Cuando toco nuestro turno le di al agente mi pasaporte y mi tarjeta de trabajo junto con los dos documentos del AP ( mi esposo e hijos son ciudadanos) nos enviaron a segunda inpeccion tuvimos que vajar del auto para entrar ala oficina; el agente ahi no fue muy amable pero tampoco antipatico me tomo la foto checo mis huellas y estampo mis papeles, tomo menos de quince minutos.

    Fue un gran alivio que todo salio bien tube que llevar con migo la disposicion de la corte que yo misma obtube, y tambien lleve con migo recod criminal del estado donde vivo y de donde ocurrio mi delito lo hice por que no sabia si me iban apreguntar algo o si me iban a negar la entrada y por si tuviera que probar que calificaba bajo el “Petty Offense” mi abogado recomendo llevar todo esto con migo claro a parte de las cartas de aprovacion de DACA , AP y empleo junto con la tarjeta.

    Durante el tiempo que duro para que me aprovaran mi AP no encontre muchos que compartieran un caso como el mio con algo en su record criminal y muy pocos viajando por tierra asi que yo espero que sirva mi experiencia a alguien y si no sabian sobre “petty offense” que lo investiguen que consulten con un abogado con experiencia entiendo que no sabemos que va pasar con DACA pero para aquellos que tienen su permiso en mano no duden en viajar.

    Like

  4. Hi everyone!

    I want to share my experience returning to the US on December 21, 2016 with Advance Parole as I found this site very helpful in my decision to apply and travel with AP.

    MY APPLICATION
    I first read the i-131 and the instructions like crazy. I then decided to put my experience to use and I applied and got accepted to a teaching program in Guatemala. I made sure to get a letter from the organization stating that I was traveling with their program. I used this letter as my evidence and I applied for AP under educational purposes. Once I had all my docs ready, I mailed my application, supporting docs, passport photos, and payment in a certified next-day delivery envelope. USCIS received my packet Oct. 7th, 2016. I received the approval notice Nov. 7th, 2016. The process took 1 month because I read i-131 instructions and I saw that the expedited process applied to my case. Usually, the Advance Parole process takes 3-5 months as shown on USCIS site.

    Once I received the AP document I panicked because I read the document said “Parole period is valid until ONE DAY”. That’s when I searched and found this site and others had the same concern as mine. So with some consolation but most importantly with my permission to travel document, I purchased my pricey plane ticket and left to Guatemala, alone. I was there for 20 days, the most encouraging, eye-opening, beautiful 20 days of my life.

    BOARDING MY FLIGHT IN GUATEMALA
    On the day of my return flight, I could not check-in to my flight online. So when I got to the airport I walked to the clerk and handed him my passport. When he asked me for the visa, I told him I had the permission document, so I handed him the copy of the AP document. He asked me for the original, so I gave him the original. He then left to confirm with his colleagues and he returned with a copy of the AP document. He told me that they (the airline) kept the original AP document. I was skeptical but I did not know any better. He gave me the copy of the AP document and he told me to show the AP copy as I got through the airport to get to my gate. I then walked to another window and checked in my registered luggage and was given my boarding pass.

    Next, I was instructed to walk to where I was handed the Customs Declaration form, which asks you what kinds of items you are bringing to the US, I was told to fill it out first. I then had to walk to the x-ray area, where the guards check your carry on and your personal items. Each time, I had to show my passport, boarding pass, and the copy of my AP document and each time I got through.

    After that I waited for my flight. Before boarding my flight I was once again asked for my boarding pass, passport, and showed the copy of my AP document. I was also searched many times (just like everyone else). Finally, I was able to board the plane. I was so happy but also kept in mind that I had to go through everything again when I arrived to the U.S (LAX).

    ARRIVING TO THE U.S. (LAX)
    I arrived to LAX. I made line as instructed and was told to have my documents in hand. I showed my docs to the lady who directed me where to go. I was instructed to go to the VISITORS line. In a booth, an immigration officer asked for my documents. I handed him my passport and gave him the original AP document. He mentioned that I should have 2 originals, I explained that the gentleman in Guatemala said they kept one. The officer told me that the clerk had no reason to do that, I explained to him politely that I did as I was instructed and I did not know I was supposed to keep both originals but the officer went ahead and stamped the one original AP document, he took my photo and took my fingerprints and then instructed someone to take me to an office.

    I was taken into a USCIS office (cell phones are prohibited there) and there I waited for about 10 minutes. I was then called to a window where an officer waited for me. He asked me for my documents only and then he stamped my passport and wrote some information on my passport. He then returned only my passport and said I was free to leave.

    NOTE: the stamp on my passport says PAROLED until Dec. 23, 2016, purpose: DAS DACA, Date: Dec 22, 2016, LAX and in the officer’s handwriting is my case receipt number and alien number.

    After this, I went to pick up my registered luggage and walked to the line where customs collects the Customs Declaration form. I was asked by the officer to confirm the items I brought and I confirmed that I only brought food items and he said I was free to go. I then walked out to meet my brother who was waiting for me and I was unbelievably excited and thankful to be back to the beautiful country that is the United States of America.

    I want to mention that on my trip I took my original employment auth card (and copies) and only copies of the DACA notice just to be safe. I actually did not need these because I was never ever asked for the employment authorization card or the deferred action notice. I would take them again though, just in case.

    I want to say that it was a scary experience being my first time traveling outside of the U.S and not knowing anyone else who has traveled with AP, that’s why I am so glad I found this page. I had an amazing experience and I hope I am able to do this again. Thanks!

    Like

  5. I going to Mexico also on January 2 and back January 12. So nervous as well. But the only thing I’m concerned about is I got 2 papers from AP . But I didn’t get the approval letter before I got then AP paper directly Is any one happen the same.

    Like

      1. I have applied for Ap back in July received by USCIS the 14th then in nov 7th they asked me for additional evidence I submitted it they received it dec13th and today they updated my case status online as “Document was mailed to me” what does that mean ? Will it say approved or denied ? Or em I approved ? Thanks

        Like

      1. Wow estoy muy feliz es lo k pensaba ! Muchas Gracias , y muchas Gracias a Karla x aver creado este blog para poder leer de su experiencia y aprender ! Les seguiré con update cuando me lleguen los documentos 🙂

        Like

      2. Siii me imagino yo ya avia perdido las esperanzas porke me mandaron a pedir mas evidencia pero gracias a DIOS me aprovaron.

        Like

  6. Hola ya que yo tambien tengo (DACA) en Agosto fue sometido el tramite para AP ayer revise en website por que no me habia yegado la Carta si me aprovaron o no y ahi salio que apenas me la mandaron el 28 De Diciembre 2016 y aun no la he resivido x correo. En caso as que aur me ayan aprovado para AP que aur me recomiendan salir del pais o no ya que aun tengo un poco De nervios

    Like

    1. Eso son preguntas personales.

      Si no tienes record criminal o migratorio, es decir que te agarro inmigracion en la Frontera o tienes salida voluntaria (saliste firmando) o deportacion, te aconsejo que consultes con un abogado.

      Si no tienes record criminal o migratorio y tu Advance Parole Parole es legitimo con razones legitimas entonces no deberias tener miedo.

      Like

  7. Hello Guys i also applied for AP and i was issued a combo card. The Combo card was Employment Card and also serves as AP. so its the combination of EAD and AP.
    My Questions what other documents do i need to travel with since everyone has been talking about having 3 copies of AP documents in which airline will take one and office at the port of entry will also have a copy.
    I need advise on this.
    Thanks

    Like

  8. Yo tengo combo card y me gustaria ir de vacaciones pero tengo una duda una vez me dieron un ticket por manejar con mi lisencia internacional y aun no la he pagado. Me dejarian entrar a los estados unidos ?

    Like

      1. Ok no hay problema en pagarlo mi pregunta seria si salgo de usa sin haber pagado ese ticket me dejarían entrar a usa con advance parole?

        Like

  9. Hi Guys i want to share with all of you my experience with advance parole and also thanks Karla for giving me the confidence to travel and enjoy life. I regitered at the airport because u was traveling with an infant everything was ok o didn’t have to show my advance parole just my passport. When o came back upon my return at the custom department i gave them both of our passport and advance parole and no question asked. I was sent to visitors line. And free to go. Its so easy believe i was so nervious but its normal take advantage of advance parole and trave. I spent out of América exactly one month.

    Like

  10. Hi there! In the light of what’s happening with the executive orders, has anyone entered the US using the Advance Parole since Jan 25th? I will need to do so in the upcoming months but I’m a little worried about having issues or even if they can deny entry. I’ve had no issues with the law or anything like that… I’m not from any of the Middle East banned countries.

    Like

    1. It is not recommended to travel after January 20th, we don’t know what Trump is going to do to DACA or Advance Parole yet. However, we will have an idea in two (2) weeks, he said he will make an announcement by then

      Like

  11. Hola!. Yo tengo DACA y me aprobaron mi AP. Nomas que estpy indecisa si salir por LAX o por TJ para hir a mexico. Ya lei muchas experiensias por el aeropuerto. Y por tj una persona aki puso su experiensia. Pero a veces por tijuana pasan a los carros y no chekean nose ke hacer por si me pasa eso porque necesito la estampa de que si me dejaron entrar con el AP

    Like

    1. Hola Anabel, yo viaje por avion hida y vuelta, me pusieron la stampa en mi pasaporte y en una de las dos hojas que me llego (travel document) ,el oficial se quedo con la otra copia. Mi amiga paso por Tijuana en carro y a ella no le pusieron stampa en su pasaporte.

      Like

  12. hola yo obtuve mi advance parole en octubre me lo dieron por un mes pero yo solo estuve 15 dias fuera, al regresar no hubo ni un problema y no me preguntaron nada solo de donde venia y cuantos dias estuve fuera, me selleron el pasaporte y me dejaron ir. el caso esk no me dieron una copia del advance parole y tengo entendido que deven regresarte una de las dos hojas que dan. so alguien sabe si hay algun prob lema en no tener una copia o como puedo consegirla gracias .

    Like

  13. Hello,

    Great Story!
    I would love to ask you couple important details.
    So lets start from this, I came in to USA with my tourist Visa for my internships, I am from a European Union Country. I was in USA for around 180 days after the tourist visa was over, and spend another around 45days as unlawful stay. Than I got married to my girlfriend, I got my EAD and AP card two days ago, I am flying to New Zealand for couple of weeks in few days to talk for a seminar. I am coming back through SFO and than to Chicago. its says everywhere that on the border, I should get a 3 year ban because I stayed more than 180 days and less than 1 year. It makes me really worry about that. I have no criminal history and everything is clean if we talk about anything whats connected with crimes. what are your thoughts? what do you think might happen?
    So much literature online says I will be banned or something like that.
    Also, I was applying for extraordinary ability persons green card, and I got denied around the same time My tourist visa was over, too. Can that effect anything?

    Thank you for your answer! I am really very seriously worry about coming back and all that stuff that was said about unlawful stay. I was over that 180 for a like a month/ 1.5month..

    Thank you so much!

    MJ

    Like

    1. If you already have your Combo Card you shouldn’t worry since the AP is a legal entry. Howeve, it is wise to consult an honest, experience and reliable immigration attorney to confirm. What City do you live? I can refer you a trustworthy attorney

      Like

      1. I dont think If I can do anything because I have already my flight to a very important meeting. And the flight is on Monday. And this Monday is this President’s weekend. I live in Chicago. Yes, I do have a combo card. But I am flying Auckland – San Francisco – Chicago.

        Like

    1. DACA and inadmissability are two very different things independent of each other. Just because you were granted DACA or they approved your AP does not mean you will be fine. If you have a criminal record, consult an attorney

      Like

  14. Hi,
    I got my Combo AP Nov 16 and now I have a urgent need to travel abroad.

    Am honestly very worried but the truth is that I need to make this trip.

    I have no criminal record,I still have a valid visa till April while I intend to return end of March.

    My hubby is comfortable while I am not but need to make the important trip.

    What should I expect upon my return? Will love to be prepared. If refused entry what options are available? What is your candid advise at the port of entry in case of anything.

    Thank you.

    Like

  15. So I just want to update everyone on my happy ending. I want to say that I’m really thankful for this blog and thank you Karla for your your hard work. So I was hesitant to apply for AP since I had lost my work permit and was afraid I would need it when I came back. But I applied and got to visit my beautiful Puebla in September! I had a wonderful time specially since I was there for Idependence Day, it truly was amazing… I had not been back since 2000. Ok so I came back through ATL airport and the process was smooth. All I needed was my passport and AP documents. So as soon as I got back I applied for adjustment of status since I am married to a US citizen and I already had an I-130 approved. I am happy to say I just had my interview with immigration on Tuesday and the officer said he changed my status to permanent resident and would be mailing me my green card. I am beyond exited!!!!!

    Thanks to everyone for sharing their stories!

    Like

    1. Hi congrats I want to know what did you take for the interview ?? Did you take pictures to prove the relationship?? I am sending my application on the 17th of march and I am so excited for me to start my process pls respond

      Like

      1. I’m assuming you are talking about your adjustment of status application. Well once you get the appointment for the interview, they will send you a list of the original documents you need to take with you. Most of these papers are the original ones to those you sent with your application like birth certificates, lease, bills, bank account statements and other documents showing that you guys live together and are married. My lawyer advised me to take a family photo album but the officer never asked to see it. He did however, ask me questions about the pictures I bad sent in with my I130 application. I applied back in 2011 so I had forgotten that I even sent those. Hope that helps!

        Like

    2. Hi Maria, I’m so happy all went well for you. I am sort of on the same boat, meaning that after coming back with AP, I am going to be filing for adjustment of status, can you tell me who is the person that has to get the medical exam done, is it me or my husband (he is a U.S Citizen), also I have pretty much everything filled out but could you let me know what you sent in just to make sure I’m not missing anything. Any help you can give would be awesome. Thanks in advance.

      Like

  16. Thank you Karla for this blog. My daughter and her boyfriend just came back from Mexico to LAX last night. He has a DACA card and his AP. They went for him to go through a training connected to his job. His entry through customs in LAX was smooth. He was nervous, but had all his paperwork and passport. They did tell him they couldn’t process him in line and took him to another room where they checked his papers. After a short wait…maybe 30 minutes, they called his name and gave his stamped passport back to him. The only question they asked was his reason for traveling and he told them. He is so relieved and happy. Their plan is to get married this year and then apply to adjust his status.

    Is there any limit to how long he can wait to file to adjust his status now that he has lawful entry? His DACA expires in December but I’m sure they will marry this summer.

    Thank you again for making this resource available. I know that it has helped so many people work through this process.

    Like

    1. I applied for adjustment within a month of my trip to Mexico. No problems so far. I’ve been married for almost two years. I believe that if your not married for at least two years they give you a conditional permanent residency.

      Like

      1. Hi Ximena,
        If you are married less than 2 years they will give you a 2 year green card and than you have to apply for the 10 year. Ask your lawyer for advice, if it’s best to wait a few months or what is best for you. I got my green card las Tuesday and the whole process took 4 months I’ve been married for 3 years so I got it for 10 years. A friend of mine that was married for less than 2 years got the 2 year green card but If she had waited a few months she would of had the 10 year.

        Like

      2. Hi,
        We filled in December and just turned 2 years in March. USCIS has not scheduled an interview so we are hoping that I get the 10 years.

        Like

  17. My fianace speaks little English will that affect him can he ask for fluent Spanish officer or he will just have to try his best to answer and understand he is currently learning English but is not quite there yet

    Like

  18. Hi Karla,

    I was on F1 visa and then got a post completion OPT. I got married last year and filled concurrently in December. My OPT expired in February and I got my combo Card first week of April. Is it safe to travel since my AOS is still pending? Will I have issues coming back in? Also is it considered unlawful presence from February till April when I got my combo card(keeping in mind that I applied in December before the OPT expired).

    Like

  19. HOLA TENGO UNA PREGUNTA ESPERO ME PUEDAN AYUDAR YO TENGO EL DACA Y APLIQUE POR EL AP Y SOLO DICE QUE ES VALIDO POR 1 DAY NOSE QUE HACER PORQUE YA TENGO MI VUELO Y TENGO DE 5 DIAS QUE ME DICEN SERA QUE TENDRE PROBLEMAS???

    Like

      1. HOLA SO DICES QUE NO TENDRE PROBLEMAS AL ENTRAR? MI MIEDO ESQ NO ME DEJEN ENTRAR DE NUEVO ESTOY MUY CONFUNDIDA YO PENSE QUE DONDE DICE ONE DAY ERA QUE SOLO PODIA ESTAR AFUERA Y TAMBIEN DICE ONE ENTRY??

        Like

    1. Ya le explique, no se como ayudarla si no entiende lo que digo. Si usted no tiene record criminal o migratorio entonces no deberia estar tan espantada, pero siempre tenga memorizado un numero de un abogado por cualquier cosa. Ya le explique que el ONE DAY no aplica para DACA Recipients. Lo que importa son las fechas que le pusieron en la hoja de aprobacion. El ONE ENTRY signfica que solo puede viajar UNA VEZ.

      Like

  20. Hi guys I have question?. December this 2017 my DACA will be expired I will be renewing it. Around July this year. My question is anyone of you has renewed any DACA during this months ir last month? I need help if there anything change before renewing mine. If you guys have any answer please feel free to let me know thank you really much.
    Hauul05@gmail.com

    Like

    1. Hello Raul! There has been no changes, all you need to know is that the filing fee changed for DACA, in total it is now $495. Also the I-765 changed, but that is not a problem because you will download all applications online and is the same thing but different format. If you have traveled with AP or without AP there is a guide on http://www.undocutravelers.org just follow the steps! Good luck!

      Like

  21. I did travel last couple month in January I have AP aproved and stamped. Should I send a copy with my renew form. What form should I print to send them. Thank you Karla

    Like

  22. So I should send a copy of my AP stamped together with the other forms ?.

    Thank you Sarah for your help wish you a wonderful day

    Like

      1. Hi Karla,

        I have maybe a slightly unrelated question. My DACA expired in 2014 and I did not get it renewed as I was in the process of adjusting my status through my mother who is a US citizen. Would it be possible to renew my DACA now? and do you know any reliable immigration lawyers that you would recommend? Thank you very much for sharing all this info with everyone!

        Murun. murun15@gmail.com

        Like

      2. Hello Murun,

        You have to Re-apply to DACA as if it were the first time, you can no longer just renew. That means you have to submit ALL the evidence again as if you were doing it for the first time.

        Like

  23. Hi everyone! Just wanted to let you know that I used my advance parole when entering via LAX this past weekend and everything went fine! I was lucky to ask the fly attendant for a customs form prior to landing (they said we didn’t need one since we would be using the new “kiosks”). As I walked through the immigration lines, I asked one of the officers which line to use since I was entering using the advance parole, she pointed me to a specific line that skipped the kiosk. When I reached the immigration officer, she asked routine questions & took my picture + finger prints. Then asked how long would I be staying and that’s when I showed her my AP. She took me to a separate waiting hall behind a secured door. There was another guy there waiting and we were just told to sit and wait to be called. I waited about 15 min when an officer called me, asked for the extra copy of my AP and returned my passport and AP (both were stamped) as he said “welcome home”. I showed these documents to the officer by the door and he let me out. I must say it was impressive how nice the officers acted, I expected a different behavior given what I’ve heard on the news but they were professional and courteous. I hope my experience is helpful for you guys!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s amazing I’m glad to hear that you had a good experience. How long were you out of the country? And did you travel to Mexico? If so which state? I’ve been debating if to apply for advance parole because it’s not recommended to leave the country but I’ve also heard that if you’re using AP to leave and come back on a weekend since executive orders aren’t signed on the weekends meaning daca won’t be resided.

      Like

      1. There has been no changes to AP so far, thus if you have no immigration or criminal record you may still travel. However, always have an attorney’s number memorized just for precaution, you should know an attorney’s number regardless if you are traveling or not.

        Like

    1. Hi Edith, I was in Mexico for 2 weeks. The whole time in Mexico City. I would advise you discuss your case with an immigration lawyer, mine might be different to yours so better be cautious.

      Like

    1. No hay cambios ahorita. Advance Parole sigue en pie, si usted desea viajar tenga un numero de un abogado o abogada memorizado por si hay una complicacion. Deberia tener un numero memorizado aunque no viaje.

      Like

  24. I have a question my husband received his work permit/I-512 Advance Parole he traveled to our country in April but it was a emergency he had to go due to some properties that he had to get on his name , I was not able to go with him we want to travel with fam on August ( hopefully by then we have his green card but in case not, we don’t can he travel again?

    Like

      1. hola mi nombre es mayeli me aprobaron el ap pero tengo una duda me dice que puedo salir ahora y regresas antes del junio 30 okay pero abajo me dice que AP period is valid until one day no entiendo si nada mas puedo estar un dia fuera del pais o que

        Like

      2. Hola, donde dice ONE DAY no es para ti, if you have DACA it means that you will have a Parole status for one day. It does not mean you can only be out of the country for one day

        Like

  25. hola mi nombre es mayeli me aprobaron el ap pero tengo una duda me dice que puedo salir ahora y regresas antes del junio 30 okay pero abajo me dice que AP period is valid until one day no entiendo si nada mas puedo estar un dia fuera del pais o que

    Like

    1. muchas graciassssss otra pregunta antes cuando yo muy entre me agarro la migra en el desierto
      y me mandaron para mexico y yo era menor de edad y ellos me dijeron que los menores de edad los detenian por 3 meses o mas asi que los que eran menores de edad que se inventaran otgro nombre o fecha de nacimiento yo ise eso y luego al siguente dia me mandaron para mexico luego bolvi de nuevo y pase sin problemas y tengo daca y me aprobaron el AP tengo miedo de salir y que me detengan por lo que paso ase 11 anos atras sera posible eso ?

      Like

      1. Usted tiene que platicar con un abogado porque tiene record migratorio. Only because you have daca it doesn’t mean that it is the same thing with AP, you might be inadmissible. You need to talk to an attorney. No salga del pais sin platicar con un abogado

        Like

  26. I’ve been reading everyone’s awesome travel stories. One question though, when you travel with a “passport” is that referring to your Country of Origin passport? Followed by th EAD and AP?

    Like

  27. Hello Everyone,

    Great sucessful stories. I’m applying for a green card, already got my permit work, was afraid to apply for AP, but I did. The AP arrived the same time the EAD card arrived. Now waiting for interview, but I already book a ticket to travel in august. Now I’ve been in the country for 9 years illegal. And on the AP says that I can get a 10 years bar. Does anyone stayed for more than an year illegal and traveled with AP, how was it? I have a clean record. Idon’t know if my interview will be schedule before it. The hope is for it to be schedule. Any advices will be great apreciated.

    Like

  28. Thanks Karla, it gives me more confidence now, and great site, I was looking to the other posts, keep traveling. 😉

    Like

  29. Hi KARLA! I really appreciate your help, about your experience you did to share with us a little bit. So i entry in the United States with ”advance parole” since December 2017. I just wanna know when they gonna send me my green card? Cause i have almost six (6) months here, i don’t received my green card yet. I have to go in USCIS to do my employment authorization and after to get my social security meantime.

    Like

  30. Hi karla I have a TPS for Nepal planning to see my mom she had a stroke last March 2017 I cound not go because My AP was issued on lost year Nov 17 2016 for one year but my tps expited on dated of Dec 22 2016 so I have to apply again ( I did not know that ) As AP said has a one year valid for multiple travels . Now I have apply for my AP this April 10th 2017 and waiting to approve to go see my mom . My question is can I leave now and once it comes My son can mail me that AP card by mail . it will be tree months by the time I will leave . I am planning to leave on July 15 2017 and comong back on November 2017

    Like

      1. Thanks for the reply karla.
        Its just with everything thats going on idk what to think. And with daca recipients being deported well from what i see on the news.

        Like

  31. AP with removal order

    Quick question, I am graduating from my master’s program this December and want to apply for advanced parole to go to see my grandparents. I do not have any criminal records or have lied to immigration about anything but when I was 11 I was issued a removal order which has never been executed. I know that with daca we are protected from deportation, but I am afraid that even if i am given AP, I will be executing that removal order. I have heard of others in my situation coming back, but I’m scared. Have most of you guys that have traveled on AP entered uinspected (not caught by immigration at the border) or were you guys caught at the border and let in like me?

    Thank you

    Like

  32. Hello Karla this is Juan I have applied for my daca renewal and I have already been to get my biometrics taken since the first receipt letter I got it has been more then 105 days now and I have not yet received anything how much longer will it take?

    Like

    1. Dear Juan
      It can take from 3 to 4 months for u or ur ur lawyer to get a response. It depends on how fast ur process Immigration will handle ur case.

      Like

  33. Hi guys,
    I just want to share my current experience applying for AP as DACAmented. I applied for Advance Parole as a DACA recipient for humanitarian reasons. I want to volunteer abroad. This is my second time applying. The first time was a breeze and I tried to follow the same steps. This time, USCIS received my application on May 19th 2017. I marked my form as expedited but it’s been five weeks and I haven’t received anything so I assume my request to expedite was not considered good enough. I called USCIS and was told that my application is still pending & that the Nebraska Center is barely processing the January applications – that it could take five months to get a response but that DACA APs normally get approved and if they grant it, it would be for a date USICS assigns. I am super bummed out because my volunteer program starts July 15th and I haven’t received anything. Wish me luck!

    Like

  34. I called Uscis to make sure everything was ok with my case bc its taking too long and I just wanted to make sure everything was ok so they gave me a date to call back if I had not received anything… I called them back on the date they told me and said that uscis was backed up in cases but since my case was passed the expected day they would move up my case so it could be done quicker and the Uscis person told me I might have to go for an interview? What should I expect at this interview should I be scared?

    Like

  35. I have Tps and was approve for AP. I have no criminal records. I’m just really afraid of traveling. My wife is a us citizen and she’ll be traveling with me.

    Like

  36. -Hello Karla,

    I got approve for AP I have a TPS and getting ready to buy my tickets to go to El Salvador for 2 days. I’m really afraid of not being able to re-enter the us.
    What do I do at the airport on my way back (Salvador airport)? What do they ask for ?

    Like

  37. Hey, guys, I have a question, Is Advance Parole for only traveling to your place of birth or anywhere in the world? I’m so confused, I went for a consultation to talk about this, only it wasn’t with a lawyer, but with his assistant or something. I asked if I can travel to Algeria for work or education and she said there was no way, that I can only use Advance Parole for my birth country which is Mexico. Is this true? Also, can other countries hire you or enroll you in their school and will that be another way to use Advance Parole? I’m really confused on how Advance Parole works..

    Like

  38. -Jay
    Carla I just came back using AP it was a fun and exciting experience . I didn’t take even 5 minutes in second inspection . All I can say is trust God and everything will be ok . I went out to my country for two days using AP to visit my family and everything was great !!

    Like

  39. Has anyone used their AP more than once to get into the USA on the same year? I used mine this year, and it went fine. AP states it is for multiple entries, but I am curious to see if I could still use it for another trip since it hasn’t expired. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

