UndocuExploring the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe and the Louvre

Hello there UndocuTravelers! I hope this post finds you well!

It was still cloudy and cold the next day, but we went to the Louvre, the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel tower.  One of my dreams was to visit the famous Louvre, where the Mona Lisa lives, that dream came true! Again the weather wasn’t the best but we had fun, if you have your Bologna school ID it is free, if you do not it is 20 euros.

It was very crowded, in fact all Paris is crowded, maybe because it is summer and everyone goes, and let me tell you, the Parisians DO NOT LIKE tourists, so if they treat you arrogantly don’t fret, it is normal.  Do not worry too much about the lines if you arrive semi early, the lines go very fast, make sure you have a map and plan what you want to see because the museum is too huge.  I recommend the Egyptian section 😀 I love Egypt, and also, obviously the Mona lisa.

The Mona Lisa is a circus, it was very crowded and the line to see her is SLOW so be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes with no personal space whatsoever, smelling weird bodily fluids and everyone pushing and pulling you in order to get a better view.

It is a nightmare when you are a short person like me, people almost step on you :/

The Mona Lisa is small and because there is so many people you cannot actually admire the art, I must admit I was a bit disappointed.  The Louvre has amazing pieces of art and a tremendous collection of Egyptian artifacts and objects but there are hundreds, heck thousands of people, and some of them are very annoying, I had 3 Asian ladies in different times and locations literally elbow me when I was taking a picture in order to move me, even if I just literally arrived.  It was my turn to take a photograph and I aimed my phone at the Egyptian statue and she elbowed me and I tripped and fell to the ground  (I am short, and my shoes were wet) she didn’t even apologize she took the picture and when I stood up and told her “WTH, she said ‘I wanted to take a picture'” UGGH.  I also had another Asian lady PUSH me away when I was IN LINE in order to cut with her daughter, no shame…terrible.  Maybe if you go really early you will avoid some of the crowd.

After the Louvre we walked to the Arc de Triomphe and on the way we found a carnival and we had lunch there and played a few games, then we walked half an hour to the arc and it is very impressive! Is huge! You can also go up there and admire the view, also when walking towards the arc you will see a lot of stores and you have to at least window shop in Paris :0

Finally after hours of walking we went to the Eiffel Tower and it was awesome! Oh wow, it is incredible how a piece of metal can be so amazing! Is everything you ever dreamed of! It is crowded as well but is ok because it is in an open space.  If you want to go up the tower you have two choices, the stairs or the elevator (13 Euro), we took the elevator and the view is fantastic! They also offer champagne (expensive but is cool).

The best part of Paris besides seeing the monuments was meeting David.  David is a professor at Duke University who offered us water when we were dying of thirst, and he is amazingly funny and nice! It was super cool to make a friend! That is the best part of traveling, you make friends and bond automatically and hopefully remain in your life for a very long time!

Here are a few pictures:

I tried to picture the whole area

Here is where I was rudely pushed to the ground

Oh Lisa, why you so far away? Why you so tiny? Why you so popular? 

Arc de Triomphe

The dream right here

DAVID!!! He is a biological anthropology professor at Duke University and he is awesome! 

On top of the Eiffel Tower

On top of the Eiffel Tower at night

Selfie with David and Monica 

Monica and David

The river

The tower starts to sparkle 10 (22 hours) for 5 minutes, and it happens every hour, don’t miss it!

I leave you with this video of the sparkly Eiffel Tower

2 thoughts on “UndocuExploring the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe and the Louvre

  1. Hi Karla,
    My name is Evelin and I’ve been following a lot of your posts. I am interested in applying for Advance Parole to study abroad in France before I graduate. I would really appreciate it if we could have a conversation about it. My email is below.
    Please let me know if this is possible.

    Evelin G.

    Like

Leave a Reply

