Erick Just flew to Italy!

Today June 21st 2015, Erick William Lopez woke me up at 9:30 am and told me he was on his way to LAX.  We texted each other when he was riding to the airport, when he was inside the airport, and the second he got into the plane.  His flight was supposed to leave at 12:30, now it is 12:33, he left 3 minutes ago! I asked him may things while he was at the airport, what did he pack, how many suitcases was he carrying, if they allowed food at the aiport…but then I asked him what he was doing, what was he thinking.  He said he was reflecting on life, his failures, successes, worries, death, life…

For us going to Italy is an out wordly experience, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity that we never thought would happen to us,  to Erick specially, this trip has been on his bucketlist forever! So he can finally cross something out from that list, something that seemed so far away that it was just a dream.  I must admit that my excitement for the trip was subdued, maybe it was the fear, the anxiousness, but now that Erick is on his way, my heart fluttered and I feel an indescribable feeling on my throat and stomach.  If I try to describe the feeling it will be like when you are a kid and you eat too much candy, that feeling of satisfaction and nausea.  You feel jittery due to the sugar high, but you feel so big and bloated that all that energy is spent on just walking properly.  I feel like that.

I cannot imagine what Erick is feeling right this instant as he looks to the window and probably is seeing the planes around him slowly rolling on the pavement about to take flight, or if his own aircraft is slowly moving, and with the roll of the tires his dreams are also taking flight.  When he falls asleep, and when he wakes up he will look to the window and think…I am under the same sky but above a foreign land, I am somewhere I have never thought I will be before.  When his feet touch the ground and that feeling of accomplishment washes over him, I know he will feel like the happiest man on earth.

Erick is a wonderful human being, and without him I would probably not be going, since he was of the idea of going to Italy.

Amigo mio, see you in Italy! Please send you positive vibes!

Leave a Reply

